Reading statements like this: "Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs." and getting grossed out? Watch this video below to get a realistic idea of the process. You'll be glad you did.
So I hope you can see from this that gelatin is processed responsibly and there is no need to feel any more alarm about gummy bears than you are about packaged salad.
What is gelatin made of?
Gelatin is used in shampoos, face masks, and other cosmetics; as a thickener for fruit gelatins and puddings (such as Jell-O); in candies, marshmallows, cakes, ice cream, and yogurts; on photographic film; and in vitamins as a coating and as capsules, and it is sometimes used to assist in “clearing” wines. Gelatin is not vegan. However, there is a product called “agar agar” that is sometimes marketed as “gelatin,” but it is vegan. It is derived from a type of seaweed.
Read the full article here: http://www.peta.org/about-peta/faq/what-is-gelatin-made-of/
Another great article from Prevention.com: http://www.prevention.com/food/gelatin-superfood
Thank you for stopping by. I hope you find something helpful here. ~ Karen
THIS BLOG claims no credit for any images posted on this site unless otherwise noted. Images on this blog are copyright to its respectful owners. If there is an image appearing on this blog that belongs to you and do not wish for it appear on this site, please E-mail with a link to said image and it will be promptly removed.